What To Expect from the 2016 American Country Countdown Awards

All the biggest country music superstars will all be under one roof tonight, Sunday, May 1st, for the 2016 American Country Countdown Awards. The award show will air live from the Forum in Inglewood, California at 8PM EST on FOX.

The ACCA’s debut in 2014  in replace of the American Country Awards. The winners are determined by sales, chart placement, tour receipts and so on. The ACCA’s however did not take place last year in 2015, so this year is the ceremony’s second show.

Celeb Secrets Country Predicts the Winners for the 2016 American Country Countdown Awards – ALL Categories

Luke Bryan dominates with seven nominations while Sam Hunt comes in second with five nods. Thomas Rhett and Zac Brown Band snatch four nominations each while Florida Georgia Line has three.

Both Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt are up for Arist of the Year along with Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line and Jason Aldean.

Legendary Country duo, Brooks and Dunn, will be going home with the biggest award of the evening. They will be receiving the NASH Icon Award, which is given “to an artist whose extraordinary talent has influenced generations of musicians and honors the accomplishments and artistry of the recipient.” Reba McEntire is expected to present the award to the duo.

There is no doubt that their will be killer performances from this years nominees as well as some of country music icons! Martina McBridfe, Jennifer Nettles and Cam will open the awards show with a performance of McBride’s 2003 hit single “This One’s For The Girls.”

Toby Keith is also set to perform an unforgettable tribute to country legend Merle Haggard and will even be joined on stage by Haggard’s band, The Strangers. Even though Matthew McConaughey hasn’t recorded a country album, the Oscar winner will be introducing the tribute.

Carrie Carrie Underwood, Kelsea Ballerini, Brooks & Dunn, Luke Bryan, Cam, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, Sam Hunt, Chris Janson, Thomas Rhett and Cole Swindell are all set to perform as well.

Let’s not forget about the presenters at the American Country Countdown Awards! Currently scheduled to present awards are  Luke Wilson, Paula Abdul, Chase Bryant, Terry Crews, Cat Deeley, Sara Evans, Trent Harmon, Jana Kramer, Chris Lane, Maddie & Tae, Scotty McCreery, Jennifer Nettles, Michael Ray, Canaan Smith, and Dwight Yoakam.

Who do you think will take home awards on the big night? Check out a full list of nominees here and relive 2014’s show before the ceremony here.

Written by CS Country Staff

Dolly Parton’s Coat of Many Colors Will Be Available on DVD this Tuesday, May 3rd

2016 American Country Countdown Awards – Red Carpet Arrivals