Saddle up country music fans, because the 2023 CMT Music Awards are quickly approaching.

For the first time, the fan-voted ceremony will air live from the Moody Center in Austin, Texas. On Sunday, April 2, the biggest names in country music will celebrate the genre, the 10th anniversary of CMT’s Next Women of Country franchise, and witness one-of-a-kind performances.

Superstars Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown are slated to return as co-hosts after successfully stepping into the role last year alongside Captain America actor, Anthony Mackie. The “Blindsided” singer previously made a surprise (Nov.2) appearance at Carrie Underwood’s nationwide tour to announce the shocking move to the Lone Star State. The hitmaker also revealed to the sold-out crowd that Underwood would be performing again as the most decorated artist (25 accolades) in CMT history.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kelsea Ballerini (@kelseaballerini)

“Both Austin and Nashville are two of the world’s greatest music cities, and we couldn’t be more excited to announce the return of the CMT Music Awards on CBS than with co-host Kelsea Ballerini surprising Carrie Underwood, our most awarded artist, in the middle of her incredible live performance at Mood Center,” said Margaret Comeaux, John Hamlin, Leslie Fram and Jason Owen, executive producers of the CMT Music Awards in a statement. “Our fans are in for an unforgettable night of music with plenty of surprises, as the Live Music Capital meets Music City for the first time ever on a national stage in what will be a true country music extravaganza.”

Whether you are tuning in to see who receives each honor, the cutting-edge acts, or the country-inspired fashion, we have you covered! General voting for the 2023 CMT Music Awards is now closed, but fans can vote for “Video of the Year” at

GIVE us a follow on Twitter at @CS_Country and IG at @CS_Country, as we’ll be live-tweeting and Instagramming the best moments from the eventful night!


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by CMT (@cmt)

How Can I Watch The CMT Music Awards? 

Pour a glass of whiskey and get ready to be glued to your television screens. The 2023 CMT Music Awards will air LIVE from Austin, Texas’ Moody Center on Sunday, April 2, at 8 – 11 PM ET/PT. The show will be broadcast on the CBS Television Network and will be available to stream live on Paramount+.

The “CMT Music Awards Extended Cut” will also air on Thursday, April 6 at 8p/7c. The special will include never-before-seen performances and 30 minutes of additional content.

Is There A Red Carpet?

Yes, A-listers will turn heads on the CMT red carpet starting at 7p/6c on Sunday, April 2. As chart-topping artists strike a pose, they will catch up with CMT’s Cody Alan, Carissa Culiner, and Marley Sherwood. MIDLAND and country crooner Jon Pardi will also perform their nominated track, “Longneck Way To Go,” before the festivities begin. Celeb Secrets will be posting in real-time from the carpet, while interviewing top nominees and leading names in the industry. 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by CMT (@cmt)

Who Is Hosting?

Kane Brown will co-host with Kelsea Ballerini. This is not the duo’s first rodeo, as they held the position in 2021 and 2022. Brown co-hosted alongside Anthony Mackie live from Municipal Auditorium, as Ballerini tackled the role remotely from her Tennessee home. The singer-songwriter tested positive for COVID-19 shortly before the affair. 

Brown will also perform his multi-week No.1 hit single, “Thank God” alongside his wife, Katelyn Brown. The ear-grabbing duet has garnered over 210 million streams and peaked on Billboard and Aircheck charts. Following the must-watch show, Brown will make his acting debut (April 7) in the hit drama, FIRE COUNTRY on CBS. 

Who Will Be Presenting?

CMT has yet to announce the presenters. Keep up with Celeb Secrets for live updates. This article will be updated in a timely manner.

Who Will Be Performing At The 2023 CMT Music Awards?

The lineup is one that you will want to take advantage of. Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown + Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, and Lainey Wilson are slated to take center stage. Newcomers Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Megan Moroney, and Nate Smith will appear on the Ram Trucks Side Stage. 

Most recently, CMT announced a handful of collaborations. The Black Crowes will join forces with Darius Rucker, and Gwen Stefani will sing alongside Carly Pearce for a never-before-seen duet. Following last year’s final performance of “Love Can Build A Bridge” featuring Late Naomi Judd and daughter Wynonna, the legend will team up with tourmate, Ashley McBryde

GRAMMY Award-winner Alanis Morissette will share the stage with Ingrid Andress, Lainey Wilson, Madeline Edwards, Morgan Wade, and Jackie Venson to celebrate the 10th anniversary of “CMT Next Women of Country.” 

 Genre-bending artist Jelly Roll will make his award-show debut with the smash single “Need A Favor.” He has been nominated for “Male Video of the Year,” “Breakthrough Male Video of the Year,” and “CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year.” Meanwhile, Tyler Hubbard will step into the spotlight for his first solo award show performance since departing from Florida Georgia Line. The country sensation will deliver “Dancin’ In The Country” from his self-titled album.  


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by CMT (@cmt)

 Who Are The Big Nominees?

Breakout star and “Yellowstone” actress Lainey Wilson is entering the evening with the most nominations – four to be exact. Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, and Kane Brown follow close behind with three nominations each. Across all categories, there are 21 first-time nominees.

There are six acts going head to head for “Video of the Year,” CMT’s most prestigious award. Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, HARDY + Lainey Wilson, Kane Brown + Katelyn Brown, and Morgan Wallen are in the running.

Will There Be Any Special Honorees This Year?

Best-selling female artist Shania Twain will receive the third-ever “CMT Equal Play Award.” The accolade is presented to an artist that uses their platform to advocate for “diverse and underrepresented” voices in country music. Jennifer Nettles and Linda Martell previously won the award.

CMT will also pay tribute to Lynyrd Skynyrd. Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Slash, and Warren Haynes will appear alongside LeAnn Rimes and Wynonna Judd as the “The Honkettes” during the star-stacked performance. The special honor comes 50 years after Lynyrd Skynyrd’s debut album and the recent passing of guitarist Gary Rossington.