in ,

2018 CMT Music Awards: Celeb Secrets Country’s Winner Predictions

CS Country is weighing in on this year’s nominees and sharing who may be bringing home an award on June 6th.

Last week, CMT revealed the nominees for the highly-anticipated 2018 CMT Music Awards, and the lineup was jam packed with some of the most talented artists in Music City and beyond.

Country superstar Carrie Underwood, who holds the title of most “CMT Music Awards” wins with 17, looks to add to her trophy case and defend her crown against superstars Florida Georgia Line and Jason Aldean, who are tied with Underwood for the most nominations with four each. Other artists with multiple nominations include 2018 CMT Music Awards hosts Little Big TownChris StapletonLauren AlainaThomas Rhett, with three nods, while Bebe RexhaBlake SheltonBrothers OsborneCarly PearceDan + ShayDanielle BradberyJustin TimberlakeKane BrownKeith UrbanKelsea BalleriniLady AntebellumLANcoLudacris and Maren Morris scored two.

2018 CMT Music Awards: Complete Coverage

While we wish everyone can get a piece of the hardware, there is only one winner in each category. The CS Country team is weighing in on this year’s nominees and sharing our thoughts on who we think will be bringing home an award during the live telecast on June 6th. You can vote for your favorite videos on now until June 2nd, too!

Hosted by Little Big Town, the 2018 CMT Music Awards air LIVE from Downtown Nashville on Wednesday, June 6th @ 8/7c on CMT.

VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line – “Meant To Be”; Blake Shelton – “I’ll Name The Dogs”; Brett Young – “Mercy”; Brothers Osborne – “It Ain’t My Fault”; Carrie Underwood feat. Ludacris – “The Champion”; Dan + Shay – “Tequila”; Jason Aldean – “You Make It Easy”; Justin Timberlake feat. Chris Stapleton – “Say Something”; Kane Brown feat. Lauren Alaina – “What Ifs”; Kelsea Ballerini – “Legends”; Luke Combs – “When It Rains It Pours”; Thomas Rhett – “Marry Me”

Our Prediction: Every single video in this category deserves recognition because they are just that good. However, for video of the year, we predict Justin Timberlake and Chris Stapleton will win the buckle for “Say Something.” Although its originally a pop song, the genre-binding track’s visual takes you on a journey that’s unbelievable. The non-traditional video is something that we and tons of other fans out there love, making it our pick for “Video of the Year.”

MALE VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Blake Shelton – “I’ll Name The Dogs”;  Dustin Lynch – “Small Town Boy”; Jason Aldean – “You Make It Easy”; Jon Pardi – “Heartache On The Dance Floor”; Luke Bryan – “Light It Up”; Thomas Rhett – “Marry Me”

Our Prediction: We can’t get enough of Thomas Rhett’s “Marry Me!” The video is the ULTIMATE visual for a heart-wrenching song like Rhett’s. Hands down Thomas will take home “Male Video of the Year” with this song.

FEMALE VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Carly Pearce – “Every Little Thing”; Carrie Underwood feat. Ludacris – “The Champion”; Kelsea Ballerini – “Legends”; Lauren Alaina – “Doin’ Fine”; Maren Morris – “I Could Use A Love Song”; Miranda Lambert – “Tin Man” From 2017 ACM Awards

Our Prediction: Carrie Underwood feat. Ludacris – “The Champion” is by far the most powerful and inspirational music video out of all the options. It embodies strength, drive, and is empowerment — something all women have — which instantly gives it the win for “Female Video of the Year.”

DUO VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Big & Rich – “California”; Brothers Osborne – “It Ain’t My Fault”; Dan + Shay – “Tequila”; Florida Georgia Line – “Smooth”; High Valley – “She’s With Me”; Tim McGraw & Faith Hill – “Speak To A Girl”

Our Prediction: How can we not make the most iconic husband and wife in country music history “duo of the year?” We’re so obsessed with not only the song, but the unconditional love Tim and Faith have for each other on-screen. We feel that country music fans are going through the same while watching “Speak To A Girl” and will ultimately name it the “Duo Video of the Year” for this year’s CMT Music Awards. 

GROUP VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Lady Antebellum – “You Look Good”; LANco – “Greatest Love Story”; Little Big Town – “When Someone Stops Loving You”; Midland – “Make A Little”; Old Dominion – “No Such Thing As A Broken Heart”; Rascal Flatts – “Yours If You Want It”; Zac Brown Band – “My Old Man”

Our Prediction: Fresh off winning Vocal Group of the Year at the 53rd ACM Awards last month, Old Dominion is in the fast lane to stardom at country music award shows. We feel that they are going to keep their winning streak with “Group Video of the Year” for “No Such Thing As A Broken Heart.” The twist between video game and reality makes it stand out from all of the other visuals up for this award – it is innovative and really demonstrates their creativity! 

BREAKTHROUGH VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Carly Pearce – “Every Little Thing”; Danielle Bradbery – “Sway”; Devin Dawson – “All On Me”; LANco – “Greatest Love Story”; Russell Dickerson – “Yours”; Walker Hayes – “You Broke Up With Me”

Our Prediction: 2018 is Devin Dawson YEAR. With a successful musical debut and an ACM nod under his belt, the Nashville-based singer/songwriter deserves this award for the work on the “All On Me” video. The visual perfectly resembles the song and Dawson as an artist.

COLLABORATIVE VIDEO OF THE YEAR: Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line – “Meant To Be”; Carrie Underwood feat. Ludacris – “The Champion”; Cole Swindell feat. Dierks Bentley – “Flatliner”; Justin Timberlake feat. Chris Stapleton – “Say Something”; Kane Brown feat. Lauren Alaina – “What Ifs”; Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris – “Craving You”

Our Prediction: HANDS DOWN Bebe Rexha and FGL! Both artists took a risk on “Meant To Be,” but it definitely paid off in the end. The song has gone 2x platinum and been #1 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart for 21 consecutive weeks, In addition, FGL and Rexha are #1 on the all-genre Billboard Radio Songs chart (third week), plus Top 5-and-climbing on The Hot 100 all-genre chart. They’re chart-topping Mediabase’s Hot AC (second week) as well. To cap it all off, the video has 392 MILLION views online. Talk about a win already!

Florida Georgia Line performs with suprise guests Backstreet Boys
Photo Credit: Justin Mrusek

CMT PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR: From 2017 CMT Artists of the Year: Andra Day, Common, Little Big Town, Lee Ann Womack and Danielle Bradbery – “Stand Up For Something”; From CMT Crossroads: Backstreet Boys and Florida Georgia Line – “Everybody”From 2017 CMT Music Awards: Charles Kelley, Jason Aldean, Darius Rucker and Derek Trucks – “Midnight Rider”; From CMT Crossroads: Earth, Wind & Fire and Lady Antebellum – “September”; From 2017 CMT Artists of the Year: Jason Aldean, Keith Urban, Chris Stapleton and Little Big Town – “I Won’t Back Down”From 2017 CMT Music Awards: Keith Urban feat. Carrie Underwood – “The Fighter”

Our Prediction: How can you NOT be obsessed with Florida Georgia Line and Backstreet Boys’ mix of “Everybody?!” We thought we died and went to heaven when we saw the guys perform this live at the 2018 ACM Awards, to then see it AGAIN on FGL’s summer stadium tour AND on CMT Crossroads. The collaboration and performance is a favorite for fans of any music genre, giving it the win for “CMT Performance of the Year” at the 2018 CMT Music Awards.

Written by Isabel Baldinger

Isabel is an intern for Celeb Secrets Country. Originally from New Jersey, she is currently living the dream in Nashville while getting her degree in Music Business from Belmont University. If she is not in class or interviewing artists, she is at a concert, at Hotbox, hanging out with friends, traveling, lounging around at Tin Roof, or eating tacos.

Home Free Cover Kane Brown’s “Heaven” – Watch Now

Craig Campbell Reveals All-Star Lineup for 2018 Celebrity Cornhole Challenge