Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan & More Among “Video of the Year” Finalists at the 2016 CMT Music Awards

With just a few hours until show time, CMT today revealed the finalists for the highly coveted ‘Video of the Year’ award at the 2016 CMT Music Awards.

Fan votes narrowed the pack down to Blake SheltonCarrie UnderwoodChris StapletonLuke BryanThomas Rhett and Tim McGraw. If Underwood wins she will maintain her record of most “Video of the Year” wins, with seven won, five won consecutively. Voting is now open at for these six finalists and voting will continue through the live show.

Music’s biggest stars will be on stage tonight including Carrie Underwood, Chris StapletonFlorida Georgia LineJason AldeanLuke Bryan and Thomas Rhett. Collaborations include Blake Shelton and The Oak Ridge BoysBilly Ray Cyrus and Cheap Trick, Dierks Bentley and Elle KingFifth Harmony and CamKeith Urban with special guests Brett Eldredge and Marren Morris; and Pitbull with Leona Lewis and Cassadee Pope. New acts Brothers OsborneLOCASHMaren Morris and Michael Ray will perform on the Firestone stage.

Presenters include actors Vince Vaughn, Rob Riggle and Billy Gardell and Chad Michael Murray ( both from CMT’s forthcoming “Million Dollar Quartet”);radio personality Bobby Bones; CMT personality Cody Alan; NASCAR driver Danica Patrick; country artists Charles Kelley of Lady Antebellum, Chris Janson Cole Swindell, Dan+Shay, Kellie Pickler andKelsea Ballerini; pop singer Leona Lewis as well as actors Joey Lauren Adams and Madison Iseman from the new CMT series “Still The King,” which premieres June 12.

Hosted by Erin Andrews and J.J. Watt, 2016 CMT Music Awards will broadcast LIVE from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena tonight, June 8th at 8:00 PM ET/PT on CMT.

Best video of the year; awarded to the artist (male, female, group/duo or collaboration) and the video director. Final nominees announced during live telecast, with final voting held online at during the show.

  • Blake Shelton – “Sangria”
  • Carrie Underwood – “Smoke Break”
  • Chris Stapleton – “Fire Away”
  • Luke Bryan – “Strip It Down”
  • Thomas Rhett – “Die A Happy Man”
  • Tim McGraw – “Humble and Kind”

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.

The Best “CMT Music Awards” Moments Over The Years!

Justin Moore Launches “Best Dad In The World Contest” With The Help Of His Daughters